About Bhutan Civil Society Network

As the number of CSOs grew, collaborative decision-making and programme delivery among CSOs became more challenging. The sector became more diverse and disparate. To keep the sector together as a fraternity, a few CSO leaders came together to start the Core Coordinating Committee (CCC) constituted by CSO representatives at the CSO quarterly meeting in October 2015. The members of the committee were elected from
the CSOs. The CCC marked the beginning of fraternity building for CSOs in Bhutan.
At a leadership workshop in 2021, CSO leaders unanimously agreed to rebrand the CCC as the Bhutan Civil Society Network (BCSN) to make it more inclusive and representative of the sector. The CCC was viewed as a ‘core’ committee removed from the fraternity. The CCC thus became a network of all CSOs in Bhutan. The operation of the network is managed by the Executive Committee comprising 10 members – eight members elected from the eight thematic groups and two eminent members to the Civil Society Organisations Authority. A programme officer manages the network secretariat.
Since its humble beginnings, the BCSN has come a long way. Today, it is a vibrant platform for all CSOs to engage in dialogue, collaboration and partnership.


An equitable, just, inclusive, and compassionate society guided by the GNH values

  • To strengthen civil society as a credible, compassionate, and inclusive agent of change.
  • To create a collaborative, inclusive, and enabling environment to address the diverse needs of people and other living beings.
  • To promote, advocate and strengthen active citizen engagement in democratic governance and development of communities.

Organogram (2022-2023)

Dr Rinzin Rinzin


Member, Good Governance, Media & Democracy Thematic Group

Mr Needrup Zangpo


Eminent Member

Dr Chencho Lhamu

Eminent Member

Mr Wangda Dorji

Member, Sanitation and Health Thematic Group

Mr Nima Gyeltshen

Member, Education and Youth Development Thematic Group

Dr Kinley Tenzin

Member, Environment & Climate Change  Thematic Group

Ms Sonam Tshoki Tenzin

Member, Wellbeing  Thematic Group

Mr Kunzang N Tshering 

Member, Gender and Vulnerable  Thematic Group

Ms Rinzin O Dorji

Member, Art, Culture and Recreation  Thematic Group

Mr Tshering Yonten

Member, Socio-economic Development & Livelihood  Thematic Group

Ms Tharpa Dema

Program Officer